A little about me…

Hi everybody!

My name is Matt Jones and I’m a freshman at EKU. I moved here to Richmond from Louisville, Kentucky and so far I’m loving central Kentucky. I’m in the professional flight program in the aviation department, and I am really glad I chose to come here. I earned my private pilot certificate a week before signing up for classes, so I was able to skip ahead to instrument training with a group of about 5 other freshmen. I’m currently studying hard to get this next rating, and I’m making good progress with it.

I got started in aviation when I was a sophomore in high school. I was sitting in home room one morning and I heard an announcement about a small scholarship opportunity that I could win with an essay. I eagerly rushed down to the office before math class to pick up the application in the four short minutes we had to get to the classroom. I wrote the essay that night, and tried to perfect it for two weeks. I was afraid to turn it in too early thinking they would lose my precious work of art, so I stashed it safely in my expandable folder until I would turn it in on the due date. Two weeks later I got a note to the office. The secretary told me, “Matt I noticed you took out an application a month ago, you realize it was due a week and a half ago?” My face twisted in panic and I spit out about four apologies to her and whipped out my essay like Clint Eastwood in The Good, the Bad and the Ugly. She smiled wide and said it was okay, but I knew she would throw it out for being late and thought I blew my chance at starting my dream of flying.

A month later I walked home from school and was sucking up water in my basement from a storm. My dad called me and was asking about the damage, and all of a sudden he said, “Alright I can’t hold it in anymore. The lady from school called me today and said you won the contest! Son you’re finally going to get to fly! I was supposed to wait until tonight but I couldn’t wait, we got a cake and everything!” I jumped up in the air and nearly hit my head on the roof. I couldn’t believe it. I’d been wanting to fly since I was in first grade. I went to Bowman field two weeks later and had my discovery flight. I eventually ran out of money and started working my tail off at McDonald’s to pay for the lessons. Two years later, I had my ticket in hand and I could fly an airplane for fun.

Now I’m at EKU with my goals of flying for a living in sight. I’m excited to go through this training and to be on the GlobalAir.com blog team. I plan to post every Sunday and Wednesday, so give me a follow and hopefully I can entertain you twice a week!

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A little about me…

  1. Very proud Aunt says:

    Matt’s passion is only surpassed by his dedication and drive to succeed. Not many people can say they worked and paid their way towards a pilot’s license while in high school (all while achieving a number of other accolades) but he can. Everyone who knows him can’t help but be proud of all he is doing! Huge inspiration to all ages!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

