Tuesday Troubles

Yesterday the chances to fly were stacked against me two-fold. The weather was decent- overcast and kind of windy-good enough to fly. However, there were a couple of small things that kept me out of the air.

The first one was a little out of the ordinary. Mark Ferris, our safety officer and a leader in our program, was talking with an FAA inspector a couple of weeks ago while he was inspecting our documents and aircraft. He went to read the airworthiness certificates and said they were very hard to read because of how old they were. So Mark contacted the FAA in Louisville and scheduled yesterday as the date to go get new ones. He was hoping it would be bad weather so it wouldn’t mess up the flow of flying here at Madison Airport but it didn’t end up that way and the whole fleet was grounded for the afternoon hours because he had all the airworthiness certificates with him.

The second one was something a little less minor that had kept me grounded Saturday as well. I’ve flown to the point where I can’t fly again unless I have a stage one check. I’ve contacted the man to give me the stage check and have been waiting to fly with him. He seems like a pretty busy man. I got an email today along with the one from Mark about a reservation edit on FlightSchedulePro. Gary (the stage check examiner) edited my reservation for Thursday so I’m guessing that will be my stage check time. After Thursday I can take advantage of this good weather again and start getting some more flying in. I’m not worried at all about this stage check because it’s just basic turns and maneuvers with instruments, and I feel more comfortable with them than the visual manuevers. The knowledge part is simple too… just how the instruments work and their different failures.

I got some tests done on Blackboard today for my instrument ground class too since I didn’t have to fly. I have a lot going on this week-Flight deck bowling party Wednesday, volleyball game Thursday, and work on Friday and Saturday-so I’m glad to get some of them done before Sunday. I still need to take one more from our Jeppesen text book, but it shouldn’t be that long.  That’s about all that’s going on this week so far though, I’ll check back in with ya’ll on Sunday…

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

