Icing

This week my instrument ground teacher Mr. Gibbs had to leave for Utah to view helicopters and hopefully add rotorcraft to the program next year. In case you didn’t know, Mr. Gibbs is the chief flight instructor and director of our program and has done a lot for EKU aviation. He’s reorganized our program since he arrived here three years ago and has shared his ambitious and reasonable goals for EKU to us in class. Anyways, he wasn’t here for class on Wednesday.

To take his place, Mark Ferris came in again. He said he planned on showing us the Jeppesen videos on Blackboard for instrument arrivals again, but he found something more entertaining and important. He showed us the dangers of icing in flight, especially in instrument meteorological conditions (a.k.a. bad weather for the pilot-jingo impaired). This video was from AOPA’s website, and featured a real-life scenario with a pilot who had flown thousands of hours and crashed a turbocharged TBM airplane with his family and dog on the way up north for Christmas. I personally thought it was tragic and it made me view icing in a different light. I knew it decreased the lift in a wing and could seriously affect your ability to keep up speed, but seeing how quickly it can happen to even the most advanced aircraft in the world made me learn a lesson. I got a lot out of this class, and was glad that Mark decided to teach us about icing.

I’ve noticed that icing has picked up a lot of attention outside of EKU right now as well. I’ve seen posts about it on Facebook and awareness in general in a couple of internet articles in addition to the AOPA icing week. This is good because lately the weather has started to turn to winter conditions. Over the weekend, the ceilings were very low and it even dumped an inch or two of snow. That’s pretty crazy considering it’s only the first week of November. I hope I can still get some flights in despite the weather this winter and stay on track to finishing instrument.

In regards to flying, the weather is great for today. I had switched my flight to today instead of Saturday morning because of it. Unfortunately plans slipped through though so I’ll probably do a double flight on Tuesday to make up for it. I also passed my stage check on Thursday. I messed up the VOR navigation portion,  but other than that I think I impressed the examiner.

That’s about all that happened aviation-wise this weekend at EKU, thanks for reading.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

