Lots of flying lately

The last couple of days have been great. I’ve been really productive and made a lot of progress in flying too. I flew twice on Tuesday, and for the most part, it was beautiful weather. I had a flight from 12-2, and 2-4.

During my first flight, it was super windy, but everything else was ideal (temperature, insane visibility, clouds, etc.). The first flight was in one of our older Cessna 172P’s, but it wasn’t that bad. It had a maroon interior and the controls were nice and loose. During this flight, we went to Lexington to practice holds and do a VOR-A approach. This is a type of landing where you tune in a frequency to your radio (the VOR navigation station) and follow a magnetic line directly to it. Then you fly holding patterns around it that look like the Indianapolis Motor Speedway from the air. It can be super difficult with strong winds, and I think I still have to get the hang of that part. After that though, you just follow a published radial (magnetic heading from the station) to the runway for landing. It was a lesson where I didn’t fly perfectly, but I learned a lot.

Lexington from the air

Lexington from the air

The second flight was better. I flew my favorite Cessna 172RG, N9985B. This is a complex Cessna, where the gear retracts and you can change the propeller blades’ pitch to be more efficient. I have finally gotten the hang of flying these, and can earn PIC (pilot in command) time in them. We flew to Lexington again, and it was much less windy. We got vectors (ATC tells you which way to fly) to do the ILS approach to Runway 22. An ILS means you have a gauge that tells you your glide slope (angle of descent) and your horizontal alignment with the runway (left and right). I absolutely nailed this approach and it felt great. We did another kind of holding pattern called a VOR/DME hold going back to Richmond-same as the first but with distance instead of time for the “racetrack.”

I’m excited because I’m only two flights away from finishing all of the flights for my flight lab this semester. I also have two more simulator lessons but those are easy to schedule and get in. So bottom line, I’m on schedule, if not way ahead. I may ask to move ahead to the next flight lab for the spring semester to take advantage of good weather. I did find out that I will probably take my instrument written exam on my birthday, December 5th though. If I pass it will be worth it, but I need to start studying hard for it soon. That’s about all that’s been going on, thanks for reading.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

