Going up in a Class C control tower!

This weekend was fantastic! It was seriously the best I’ve had at Eastern Kentucky University since the first week of school. On Thursday, I finished the last flight in my flight lab for the semester. I practiced holding patterns in fairly windy conditions and was proud of how well i did. I signed up in the aviation office afterwards for the next flight lab, and I’m waiting for it to show up in my account before I have my next flight.

While I’m excited about my flying progress, I also had a great trip to Lexington’s airport on Saturday morning with the Flight Deck (our living-learning community on the 10th floor of Clay Hall). We visited the control tower there, and it was amazing. I’ve been to a Class D control tower before, but Class C was very cool. We walked in and immediately I noticed it was dark. Then I looked to the left and saw the approach/departure control room with radar screens and fluorescent buttons in it. We went in there and talked with the controllers, watched them do their jobs. I couldn’t take pictures in there though, sorry! We went upstairs to the tower control, and the view was amazing. We watched jets take off, and used binoculars to watch landing traffic.20141122_121114 The coolest part though, was going on the catwalk on the edge of the tower. The view was second-to-none. 20141122_123000Here’s the video I shot of the beautiful view on the catwalk. It was pretty windy, I was glad I didn’t drop my phone down through the cracks!

It was a really great trip. If you are a pilot and haven’t been up to your local control tower, ask around and try to get into one. When you meet the controllers, you realize they are actually real people, not just super-professional robot voices that run through the ear cups of your headset with directions. They will show you what happens when you do certain things, and give you helpful tips. I highly recommend it. They are usually very open to visitors, just schedule in advance. That’s the highlights of my weekend, I hope you enjoyed it and thanks for reading.

Matt

 

 

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

