Getting an upgrade

Hey everyone!

It’s been a crazy week so far. I haven’t flown since my last flight doing holding patterns around Richmond, but that’s okay since it’s Thanksgiving and I’m not sure when my registration status for the next flight lab will be complete. Me and my friend were the victim of an attempted armed robbery on campus, but we got away unharmed and the police were fantastic. It was scary, but it also made me gain new respect for the campus police at EKU. They genuinely care, and try their best every night to keep us all safe. If you’re a student reading this thinking of coming to EKU, it was a rare event that the police handle immediately and they usually catch them within minutes.

Anyways, enough on that. The really cool thing that happened this week is my little upgrade. Up until this point, I’ve been going old school in the cockpit. I’ve used pencil, paper, plotters, and sliding E6B’s for navigation throughout my entire flying career. However, getting into instrument, and maybe cross country flights across several different states in the future, I figured it was time to take my friends’ suggestions and buy an iPad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

The big reason was price of charts. IFR charts and plates are revised every 56 days as opposed to the sectionals I had been buying every 6 months. At about 6 bucks a piece, I would be spending a decent chunk of change every year. Therefore, a $75 dollar subscription to an app called Foreflight seemed like the way to go. I bought a refurbished iPad 2 on Amazon for $200 and it’s like new. I went for the 32 gb model since I will preload all my charts for offline use and avoid 3G all together. I’m excited to start using it in the cockpit. I will probably wait until after christmas and receive the subscription as a gift. I am trying to decide how I want to secure it in the airplane. At the moment, I’m thinking of putting velcro on the bottom and throwing it on my kneeboard. iPad kneeboards are available, but they are super expensive.

I’m back at home this week for Thanksgiving. It’s going to be great to see the extended family again and just focus on getting as fat as possible. This is my favorite holiday by far, and I can’t wait until tomorrow! I’ll let ya’ll know how  it went on Sunday.

Have a blessed Thanksgiving!

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

