Back at EKU

Hey everyone, hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

I had a really good one. My family and I went to three different houses for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I kind of paced myself this year so I was golden all day and put down a lot of food. It was great to be back and see all my family again. I really focused this year on talking to family members more and savoring the company. Being away from home has made that aspect of life more important.

I also signed up for my first aviation-related job. During the winter, my job in Richmond for Bluegrass Kettlemasters is slow on work, and my boss Matt told me I could find another one if I wanted. My friend down the hall had signed up as a truck assistant for UPS in North Carolina, and I thought it sounded like a pretty good idea. I applied to be a package handler at the UPS world hub in Louisville, and yesterday I interviewed and got it. The pay is fantastic, and I’ll get to hang around the airport, even though it’s really hard work.

I’m also studying like crazy lately. The instrument written exam is on Friday, and so far I’ve gotten every test done for the instrument ground class except for the final. I’m re-reading the entire ASA test prep book again before I take the practice final, and the final online in order to practice for the actual FAA written. That’s a lot of work for three or four days, but I’m going to do it. I’m determined to get atleast a low 80 on this test. That’s about all that happened this weekend, hope you have a good week!

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

