Mush Mind

Hey everyone!

Sorry about my Wednesday post being a little late this week. I’ve had a lot going on and I got sidetracked. I studied really hard for the instrument written exam the whole week, and it really ended up paying off. I took it today and got a 92%. That’s awesome! In my private pilot training, I got an 86% and thought it was great, but a 90 is just unbelievable to me. I’m so happy to have passed it, because now I can officially move on to the second flight lab which I have begun. I didn’t think the questions were that hard from the personal selection that the FAA sent me for my test. I only had to look at the figure booklet about 15 times out of the 60 questions, and I only marked up 8 questions after my first pass. When I went back through them, I thought I had chosen the right answers the first time, and just pressed submit. I thought I finished way too early, but then a 92 popped up so I’ll take it.

As far as flying for this week, it’s been awful. This is the worst weather I’ve seen in Richmond since the first week of school. It’s been low overcast, terrible visibility, and precipitation all week long. The planes probably haven’t been up since Monday. However, I did fly one of the two simulator flights that comes in the second instrument flight lab on Tuesday. They’re meant for review, so my instructor Anthony asked if I had anything I wanted to go over again. I honestly didn’t have anything that I’m uncomfortable with. I used to have problems with DME arcs (flying in a perfect circle with a distance instrument), but they make a lot of sense now after doing them in one of the last few lessons of the first lab. So we did approaches at KLEX like we would in a real flight lesson. He acted like ATC and cleared me for an approach, and I contacted him when I went missed to start vectors for an ILS approach and so on. I did pretty well, and feel like I’m getting much more consistent with holding a glide slope and proper speed on the ILS approaches. My VOR approaches are getting really good, and I’m proud of that. It’s amazing how far I’ve come in just one semester, and I’m wondering how I’ll do in the Spring. I guess I’ll find out eventually, thanks for reading!

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

