Mixed emotion Sunday

Hey everyone, hope you had a good weekend.

Since the last post, two significant things have happened. The weather finally turned back around. It was absolutely beautiful weather to fly in today-chilly and clear blue skies. I called my instructor Saturday night and we set up a flight for today. So I started driving over to Madison Airport, and all of a sudden I found myself in a ditch/farmer’s fence. I was on a country road going the speed limit and came up to a tricky turn in the low-shoulder road I had traveled through at least 45 times before. I braked for the turn, but instead of turning I slid right into the fence and put my car in a 45 degree angle from the ditch. I wasn’t hurt at all, but I’m worried about my car. It survived the tow truck’s attempt to getting it out of the ditch, and I drove away from the incident with a lighter wallet. However, I can’t help but worry while I’m driving it in fear that something got bent and I can’t turn well. I’ll be very careful until I can get back to Louisville for the holiday.

On a lighter note, the good weather was a welcome sight after a week of overcast and rain. I went up and did holding patterns, and two instrument approaches to i39. I got to use the foggles I got for my birthday on Friday from Sporty’s, and I really like them. I did pretty well, but I don’t think my head was in it after having the mini crash. Oh well, I guess I’ll move on and get over it. I’m going to try and fit a bunch of flights in this week since a lot of people are leaving after finals, and I’m staying until Thursday night for an employee Christmas party. That will give me a nice head start for the Spring semester and hopefully get me into cross countries a lot earlier. Hope you have a good week, and thanks for reading,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

