Aviation Merit Badge

Hi everyone, hope you’re having a good week so far!

The weather this week in Richmond hasn’t been too good. It’s been overcast and cold all week, and I was canceled Tuesday. My instructor was feeling under the weather for a couple days too, so I probably would have had to fly with someone else anyways. I got new tires for my car today, and it feels like new, so I’ll have no problems driving to and from there which is good. I should get to fly tomorrow because the ceilings are looking decent on the TAF for Lexington, so I’m excited to fly.

One of our good friends that we hang out with on the Flight Deck and that I went to high school with will get to solo tomorrow if the weather is good enough. I’m stoked for Hami, and hope he gets to go up.

Also, this weekend I’ve got a couple of cool aviation-related things going on. I’m starting at UPS, so I’ll get to be around SDF (Louisville International) and UPS’s world hub a lot, and I’m also teaching the aviation merit badge at the troop I became an Eagle Scout with. I called Bowman Field’s Control Tower and set up a tour for us, and I’m going to teach the rest at the grade school. It should be a lot of fun. It’s going to feel good to give back to the troop and spread aviation. Hopefully I inspire one of them to do something in this great field. Final exams are finally over and Christmas is coming, so times are good here at EKU and everyone is starting to destress. That’s about all that’s going on this weekend, I’ll catch up with ya’ll on Sunday.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

