UPS job

Hey everyone, happy Sunday!

I’m back at home in Louisville for the winter break, but I’m not taking it easy. I got started with my seasonal job at UPS in their world port hub at SDF. So far I’ve just had orientation and signed a bunch of papers, but tomorrow morning I officially start getting down and dirty. They made me a loader, so I load all the packages into the crates that they fill the aircraft with-pretty neat stuff. I’m hoping to be by the door so I can see all the jets up close and personal but I doubt it. Even if I don’t get to do that, I’m still very close to all the cool parts of the biggest airport in Louisville. Just getting into my car to go home today, three UPS planes buzzed by my head and the huge control tower was looming in the distance. When I got further down the road, I have a perfect and beautiful sight of the entire airport which is super neat. (sorry I can’t take pictures while I’m driving) I think it’s a pretty cool job for a cool company even though I’ll work really hard. Who knows, one day I might get to be a pilot there in the very distant future.

The aviation merit badge I taught went pretty well. They all earned the wings (there’s a plane on the merit badge) to put on the sash, so I guess that makes me a good teacher. I’m kind of jealous because as a kid in the troop, I always wanted to do it and nobody ever taught it. They loved the control tower at Bowman Field and the controllers were super cool. I took my dad as well and he was pretty impressed even though he had to miss the first half of the Kentucky basketball game. I’m not sure what I’ll do over the break yet, but I’ll think of something cool. I’ll catch up with ya’ll on Wednesday, thanks for reading!

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

