UPS job after a few days

Since Sunday I have worked alot at the UPS worldport. I’m still fascinated by the location and views that a worker in this company can experience everyday. 

As you can see from an overhead, it’s right by the main runways used at SDF (commonly known as Louisville International). I’ll go on break and watch Southwest Airlines’ 737s land and taxi right before my eyes. I can see massive UPS MD-11s taxi by and roar on takeoff. It’s awesome. I’m also extremely impressed by the efficiency of such a massive operation. UPS has thought of everything and coordinates hundreds of workers into a well-oiled machine to keep time sensitive cargo on the move. 

My personal job is loading these “cans” up with all kinds of packages to the brim, so the loaders can roll them away and lock them into the fuselage of the aircraft. It can be hard work, but it’s like playing Tetris. There are so many different shapes of packages and boxes that you have to have a good eye and creative mind to fit them perfectly into the different shapes of cans (different for other aircraft, some are bigger and smaller than this-different shapes) and maximize the space. It’s such a great experience and company that I’m really glad I applied this year to work for them. They pay really well also, however the hours are insane for this “peak” season around Christmas. By Christmas day I’ll probably be as alive as a scarecrow but it’ll be worth it! There’s the highlights of the job so far that I can fit into this post, hope you enjoyed it and have a great rest of the week.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

