Holiday Craziness at Louisville International

Hey everyone,

Sorry this post is a little late, I’ve been super busy lately. This UPS job is getting a little out of hand and I’ve been working 10-12 hour shifts every single day. I just didn’t have time last night to write anything up after I got home. The only thing going on right now is my busy job at UPS. I can definitely tell the volume of airplanes at SDF is picking up. I was sitting on a ten minute break by the window (of course to watch airplanes) in the break room and saw five jets taxi by. UPS even rented (so I’ve heard through the grape vine) a 747 from Southern Air. I saw it parked on the ramp when I came in and left so I’m not sure what this beauty is here for. Hopefully I don’t have to load it! I did load a lot of smaller cans today that appeared to go into the 747s though. Here’s a picture of what the 747 looks like.

Last night I got to view most of the rest of UPS’ facilities and aircraft up close. We had to stay so late that their shuttle service (full size, old city buses drive employees around the property) shut down for our wing and we had to hike over to another stop. We walked ten feet away from Airbuses, MD-11’s, and 767’s. We walked through the main sort building where the miles of conveyer belts are housed, and they are stacked to the high ceiling on top of each other going every direction. We saw the massive road systems and sidewalks that UPS built to navigate all these buildings. It truly is impressive how they deliver the world’s packages everyday. I’m feeling very tired though and can’t wait until Christmas.

Have a great Christmas week!

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

