Thinking over the upcoming summer

summer-3

Lately I’ve been stressing over my plans for this summer. I don’t know where I will be staying, if I will be working or not, or if I will have to cover the flight fees flight out of my savings. It’s a lot to think about/stress over, and I’m a little worried. I think it is a very poor rule that EKU has for students that they have to stay on campus for at least 4 semesters,be over the age of 21, or have a primary residence with parents to be able to stay off campus. It makes life on aviation students very hard. I would love to grab a cheap apartment to stay in, and hold down a couple of jobs this summer, however I’m not sure if I can find one that would allow me to only rent for a couple of months. I would also love to keep it for the rest of my education at EKU, but the silly semester rule prevents me from doing so and makes summer flying a difficult time to plan. Right now, I am leaning towards finding an apartment of some kind, and only signing up for the next flight lab which I believe is multi-engine. Even if I have to live in Lexington for the summer, I think this is my best option. I would also love to keep a room mate in order to keep living costs down, because money is becoming stressful too as I mentioned before with the savings. It will also be hard being away from family for a stretch of months during which most college students get to spend at home. I guess the struggle is all a part of chasing your dream of flying. All of this has been floating in my head these past couple of days, and I need to sit down and plan it out when I finally have some free time after UPS. I’m sure it will all work out.

Have a fantastic week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

