The Winter Ahead

Lately I’ve been getting a lot of emails in my school inbox from Ralph Gibbs (chief flight instructor) and Mark Ferris (Safety director) about cancelled flight ops due to weather. It hasn’t just been about actual cancellations, but also guidelines for the winter ahead. It’s supposed to be another harsh winter like last year, which is bad news for flying.

At EKU, we cannot fly when the temperature is below -20 F, and last year those temperatures were real. Already we’ve had a cancellation due to temperature, and I wouldn’t be surprised to see more. However from my limited experience, clear and cold days spring up consistently after a couple days of bad weather in the winter. Hopefully those days hit right on my flight days! If not, I’ll just have to focus on my studies in the other classes I’m taking and try to stay warm inside. There’s nothing else I can do about it but stay positive. Despite many cancellations this semester looming, I hope to keep up and get my flying done. If I have to, I can always try to fly on small holidays. Good luck to all trying to fly this winter, and stay warm the rest of the week.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

