Emergency Landing at Louisville International

There I was last night around eight-o-clock. I was sitting on my bed, firing up liveatc.net for the first time in months. I was in a flying mood, and wanted to listen to the UPS traffic roll in. Two minutes into the exchanges, I heard something that caught my ear. A Beechcraft King Air was reporting that it couldn’t determine if its gear was down and locked and was doing low passes so Tower could visually check. Tower reported they couldn’t see a gear down, and the pilots called their mechanic in the air while doing patterns around the runway. They finally determined they had no other option but to land. They requested runway 17L and were cleared to land. Meanwhile I’m on my bed with my mouth open, and rush downstairs to brief my mom on what’s happening. As I hear the “cleared to land” clearance from Tower, I hear the plane go over my house and I hoped they would get it down without a problem. They put it down safely, and all the other aircraft were routed to the other runway while the wreckage was pulled off. 8 passengers were on board, and everyone was okay. They were originally destined for Clark County Airport, but diverted when they noticed the unsafe gear light. It was quite a crazy event to hear on a casual session of liveatc.net, and I’m glad it turned out fine!

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

