Flying Well and Often

Sorry about getting out of sync with the blogs, I’ll be back with a normal post on Sunday. Since I got back on Thursday, I’ve flown three times. Friday night I was very rusty and it seemed weird to be expected to fly IFR. This brought my confidence down a bit, and I really tried mentally be ready for my next flight on Sunday. This was a flight to KLOZ (London, KY) to practice a VOR/DME arc approach.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 3.18.09 PM

The arcs and final approach coarse are in bold.

This is a pretty weird approach that I’ve always had problems with. You’re basically keeping an exact distance from a ground station, the VOR station, in the shape of a circle until you are close to the final approach path to the runway. Then, it’s like a normal instrument approach. This involves a lot of twisting of instruments and visualizing where you are. I finally understood the approach, and believe I could do it five more times fairly well. This is pretty big for me since it was always a big weakness I knew I had. Today, I had a mock stage check for a test that I will have in about five flights. It was pretty windy, and we went over to Lexington to do all the approaches. I did really well, and remembered everything. I just have nit-picky habits to break, but I understand and remember everything important to instrument flight. I’m very ahead in the syllabus so far, and the weather should be decent this week. However, it’s supposed to turn ugly after that. Accuweather is calling for snow, rain, clouds, and cold temperatures until February 10th. Good thing I’m ahead and have some simulator lessons to fall back on. So I’m riding pretty high right now and hopefully I can keep it going.

Have a good week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

