Instrument Stage 2 Check

So I was done flying my last lesson, and my instructor Anthony noticed something. I had been counting through the pages of my flight lab syllabus (each sheet is a lesson) and counted six or more sheets until the next stage check. However, he turned the page and noticed I was already there. The pages I counted were extra time lessons in case I wasn’t on par with the flight hours (which I’m not, but I think we will just take longer cross countries). So I scheduled a stage check with Gary Harp, and have had to skip a flight day waiting for it. If the weather is okay, I will have a simulator session with him (he says to have a little bit of a practice run), and then go up and fly approaches at Lexington. He says I have the option to perform the radio work myself, or have him do everything. I think I’ll go ahead and take the radios for practice. I’ve never had many issues with it anyways, the ILS is the clearance that gives me difficulty. It’s because the controller just spouts out so many commands, it can be hard to understand without hearing it fifty times before. My approaches are great at this point in my training, so I think overall I will nail this stage check. Hopefully I get good enough weather on Tuesday so I can let ya’ll know it goes.

Have a great week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

