Flying Right Along

This week has been pretty great. I had my stage check on Tuesday with Gary Harp. First we flew in the simulator which I thought was pretty hard. He made instruments fail, and made the weather low IFR. He was very meticulous with everything and made me feel like I did terrible. However, after I stepped out to go fill out my logbook with him, he said I did pretty well. The simulator was a practice for exactly what we were going to do in the air that day. We went to Lexington, did a VOR approach to the minimums, circled around for an ILS approach, and then went back to Richmond to finish off with an RNAV approach. I didn’t think we were going to get to fly because of some low clouds, but then they cleared up to blue skies all the way to the north. The flight went really well, much better than the simulator. I think I imimage001pressed him a bit, which is always nice to do. The day after, I picked up my maroon aviation polo. You can only get one once you’ve completed your private pilot certificate, so they’re pretty neat to have. I got a callsign on it since I thought it would be cooler than having my name there. I chose the name java because Mr. Gibbs said in class if you don’t pick one now, chances are you’ll get one you hate later. I chose java since I’m slightly addicted to coffee (it makes me feel better to say slightly). I think it sounds cool with my last name, Java Jones and the shirt looks really cool. My other classes this week have been a little demanding but I’m hanging in there. The weather’s looking pretty bad ahead so maybe I’ll play some flight sims or something this weekend to get my flying fix. Thanks for reading, and have a great weekend.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

