Gatlinburg Fun

KGKT (not my photo)

This week has been fantastic. I continued with the good streak of flying and weather, and took a trip to Gatlinburg, Tennessee. (KGKT) The route I took was basically just going south through VORs, and once I was 20 miles from Knoxville (KTYS) they just cleared my directly to the RNAV approach. For the little time I had my foggles up, it was absolutely beautiful there. 8,000 foot mountains loom to the south (not in the photo), and beautiful white homes are scatted along the scenic ground. On the way there, I was allowed to look out a couple of times to see the lower mountains that lie on the border of Kentucky and Tennessee and they looked really cool as well. The hardest part of the flight was taking back off after touching down. You have to climb pretty fast so as to avoid the massive mountains, along with 4 turns at the same time. Luckily, I had briefed it all before and put it in the GPS for help. It was a great place to fly to, and I heavily recommend it. It was easily in the top two coolest places I’ve ever flown. Tonight EKU is playing a home game and it will be on ESPN U, so the whole campus is in a small uproar. It’s going to be a great time, and I can’t wait. On Saturday, me and my room mate Adam will make our long/combined cross country weather permitting. We’ve yet to agree on a place to fly to, but we’re going to sit down tonight and decide. That’s all that’s going on, hope you all have a great weekend.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

