Terrorist Threat

Last week someone walked into the Combs classroom building, went into a bathroom stall, and chiseled: “Bringing gun to here. 2-11-15. Dead students.” Obviously, tremendous cautions were taken. Almost all classes were cancelled for the day all over campus, multiple events were rescheduled, and security was heightened at events such as the televised men’s basketball game and Alton Brown at the center for the arts. I believe FBI agents were brought in at one point to investigate, but that may just be a rumor. I’m grateful university officials acted like they did. Nothing happened, however I can’t help but thinking something would have if they hadn’t acted as they did. Because of all the cancellations, I have caught up on all my assignments and reading, and got my last IFR simulator lesson in yesterday. I did very well, and performed an approach I had never done before using a navaid not commonly used called an NDB. They’ve been around since WWII and are phasing out of the aviation system. I thought it was a good skill to learn and I’m glad I learned something useful from the last lesson. Nothing much is going on this weekend, a lot of people are going home so hopefully I can salvage some fun out of it. Hope you all have a great weekend yourself, thanks for reading.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

