EKU campus shutdown

Yesterday, our area in central Kentucky got so much snow, I can’t even begin to estimate the inches outside my window. It had to have been a foot or more. The snow fell all day, and did not stop until eight at night. I’ve never experienced so much snow in my life, and while it is cool, it is beginning to become annoying. The airport manager at Richmond’s airport filed a NOTAM yesterday closing the airport until further notice because of the amount of snow on the runway. Whenever I want to go eat or work out, I have to trudge through a huge pool of snow for a mile and brave the -20 wind chill. I haven’t seen the roads off campus yet, but I’ve heard they are just now being able to clear them since snow isn’t falling continuously anymore. On top of all of this, I’ve heard we are getting 1-3 more inches tonight. While it sounds like a small amount compared with what we just received, it’s still a substantial amount of snow. I don’t know if we’re having classes tomorrow, but we’ve been cancelled for two days so far. I hope we do get cancelled tomorrow, because that’s my day where I walk all over campus. I have a night class on the opposite end, and under normal circumstances it takes me fifteen minutes to walk there. I forgot my boots at home as well, so Wednesday classes would be a bad experience for me! That’s what’s been going on around EKU so far this week, good luck with your winter weather problems this week.

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

