The Future of Aviation

I was reading the Wall Street Journal the other morning, and something caught my eye. It was a video of a completely solar-powered aircraft taking off for a trip around the world. The name of this incredible aircraft is the Solar Impulse 2. It has a longer wingspan than a Boeing 747 at 235 feet, and has 17,248 solar panels that charge 4 batteries on board. It started it’s journey in Abu Dhabi, and will fly for 25 days in the span of about 6 months to complete it. The aircraft flies at 28,000 feet during the day to take advantage of the solar energy, and at 5,000 at night. The coolest part of this trip in my opinion: you can track the entire flight 24/7 on the internet for free. It shows you everything from battery status, ground speed, location on google maps, and the control center live feed, to pilot status and time of leg. What is the purpose for this flight? Well, for one it’s to explore a new means of transportation, which I am extremely excited about. As of now it’s not practical, but in my opinion that’s how everything starts. The second reason is to raise awareness for renewable energy for the United Nations’ Kyoto Protocol meeting this December in 2015. I hope this trip leads to inspiration into more renewable sources of energy in aviation (I’m a green-obsessed person), and more research for alternate energy sources in general in the future. If you would like to read the article I read on the WSJ (and see the initial takeoff), you can find that here. Definitely check out the live tracking as well, it’s worth a visit. Thanks for reading, and have a good week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

