Ready for a Check Ride… maybe

I recently passed my stage 3 check with Gary Harp (I think it was Thursday of last week). This is usually the last flight in the syllabus before taking the actual checkride. However, my roommate and I chose our flight days to be Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday and loaded our classes on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. The checkride examiner, Steve Dryman, has a different system. He only flies on MWF, in case there’s bad weather so as to go the next day with those who missed out. EKU policy is that we cannot schedule flights during scheduled class time, and therefore, me and my roommate Adam are in a bind. Adam contacted Ralph Gibbs, the flight director, and he was pretty understanding. He said he will contact Steve, and if he won’t work out we can use someone from Louisville. I’m secretly hoping I can use the person from Louisville, because I think he is the person I had for my private checkride last summer. He was a very relaxed guy, and did not grill me over obscure terms and standards. I would love to have him again, but I’m also nervous about taking the checkride in an almost unknown area with different approaches and procedures. At this point, I’m just hoping to get my checkride done soon so I can start working weekends and move onto multi-engine flying. I bet it will work out soon though, and I’m eager to hear what the solution to this is. Thanks for reading, and have a great week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

