Waiting for a Checkride

Last week I had an aviation intensity about me. I was studying two nights a week at a marker board with friends, chair flying maneuvers, and going over practical tests standards for an IFR checkride I had anticipated to occur soon. However, when I dialed Peyton Hoge’s number on a Tuesday evening, I didn’t get an answer. I left a message, and Adam left an email for him notifying him of our need for a checkride. He got back to me a day and a half later sounding a little overwhelmed, and explained to me that he was booked for the rest of March. In my head, I still thought he was my best option for a checkride, so I asked him about his availability after Spring Break. However, he said he couldn’t even tell me, and that I should call him in a week on Wednesday when he had a better picture of his schedule. I thanked him and hung up the phone, a little more gloomy than when I picked up. I went from being ahead of the flying game, to hoping I will get done by the end of April in the span of 24 hours. I’m still in a good situation, but I wanted to get IFR training done, and get started on multi-engine to cut down on commuting during the summer. I still have hope that Adam and I can get a checkride right after Spring Break, but I guess I’ll have to wait and see. Worst case scenario,  I may just have to choose another instructor at a local airport. I worked a lot this week, and have a lot of tests coming up before Spring Break this weekend, so this week will be a little tough, but I’ll get through it. That’s about all that’s been going on lately, thanks for reading, and have a good week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

