A Unique Way to Keep Your Pilot Skills Sharp

As pilots, we are battered with review and refreshers the day we earn our wings from a DPE. Just last week in my personal inbox, I received 3 emails from AOPA, the FAA, and AmericanEagle filled with tips deemed important for me to remember.

Don’t get me wrong.

These traditional ways of keeping current are great and probably necessary to a point. However, I have always used a more unique way to review important airman laws, aerodynamic factors, and flying techniques: podcasts. If you don’t know what these are, they are spoken, pre-recorded audio files with a wide range of genres and topics. These include sports, story-telling, language learning, comedy, and of course aviation.

My personal favorite “show” that I listen to on a regular basis is “The Finer Points” hosted by Jason Miller. He is a passionate CFI living in California and comments on fantastic topics that pilots often forget about. While in fitness class the other week, I listened to the 3-2-1 rule while on an exercise bike. This review of the IFR weather alternate rules helped me and Adam in our instrument oral exam. He teaches tips for flying, reviews, and close-call stories for pilots to learn from. I strongly recommend downloading iTunes (if you haven’t downloaded it yet in the past 14 years…), head to the podcasts section of the iTunes store, and search “The Finer Points.” Check out some of the episodes, and the related aviation podcasts. I enjoy them, and I think you will too.

Have a great week,

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

