Being an EKU aviation student during the summer

Last Thursday I was supposed to have my first physical multi-engine flight. However, due to clouds and uncertain flight time conditions, we decided to cancel. I had planned to leave early that day and go to EKU to use the pool and hang out in the library. I decided not to do this because of the uncertain weather, and it’s a good thing I did. My friend Matt Hamilton called and let me know that if a student didn’t actually pay summer tuition for credit hours, then they had to pay an additional $50 for facilities. So now I can only use the library, hang out with or stay with friends in the summer dorm, go to work, or go to the airport. It’s almost as if Richmond has become my secondary home for the summer which is a weird feeling. It’s also a big let down because I was looking forward to getting in shape with swimming again while driving down to fly. It’s okay though. I don’t plan to pay the fee to use the facilities. I’ll just get by for the two months and look forward to my full student privileges being restored in the fall. In other news, Tuesday looks fantastic to fly. I’m going to have a double flight, and with the Seminole that has a glass panel since the other is down for an annual inspection. It’s very exciting, and I’ll report on Wednesday. Thanks for reading, and have a great week!

Matt

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

