First multi-engine flights

Last Thursday I had my first lessons in the Piper Seminole and I absolutely loved it. It actually feels like I’m flying a real, practical airplane and makes me understand the fundamentals I’ve been taught so far. Everything from being smooth, using checklists religiously, knowing shortcuts and procedures by heart all makes sense now. I’ve always heard that you have less time to perform everything in a multi-engine airplane because of the increased speed, but it never hit home until Thursday. Just doing a lap around the pattern was incredibly faster in the Seminole than a single-engine airplane. While I didn’t do terrible, I don’t think I’m anywhere near where I need to be by the end of the course this summer. I’m going to continue to study hard, try and remember everything I learn in the flight lessons, and learn from my mistakes. Two-a-days are a great environment to encourage this, as it’s almost like a school day at the airport. I may start taking that off time at the airport to write down the tips I learned in the previous lesson. I did this in my private certificate training and it helped considerably. Always, my next batch of lessons is Tuesday, and the weather looks great. I can’t wait to get back out to Richmond and conquer the Seminole!

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

