AOPA seminar at KSME

It has been a while since I attended any kind of presentation or event to refresh myself on aviation, however last night I did. I attended an AOPA seminar with the Flight Deck community at EKU. If you are unaware of what the AOPA In-Person seminars are, it includes an experienced representative from the AOPA who comes and presents scenarios and gives generally great advice to local pilots.

My view from the presentation

My view from the presentation

The boarding area of the terminal building

The boarding area of the terminal building

The theme for last night was a questionable cross country and the many errors that could exist along the way. The presenter was great at what he did, and helped us analyze a man’s cross country to Denver to buy a used car. Being in a hurry, he made plenty of mistakes but was lucky to walk away without anything abnormal happening. What the presenter said after that was what I really pulled from the night. He said the pilot would be more dangerous the next flight since he hadn’t learned a lesson from the poor choices he made. He will continue to make the mistakes, but think he is invincible to the related consequences and become more cocky.

The very nice backside of the airport next to the tarmac. We watched everyone takeoff afterwards.

The very nice backside of the airport next to the tarmac. We watched everyone takeoff afterwards.

The front of the terminal building. It has a general aviation sign as well

The front of the terminal building. It has a general aviation sign as well

I like this because I believe in every flight us pilots either forget to do something or willingly perform a procedure incorrectly. Just because we do not experience negative consequences for doing this, it doesn’t mean it can’t happen the next time, so it’s important to stay humble.

The general aviation lounge of KSME.

The general aviation lounge of KSME.

I also fell in love with the airport it was hosted at. It was Lake Cumberland Regional Airport (KSME) in Somerset, KY. It has everything a nice, huge airport would have proportional to a regional airport. It had a terminal building, baggage areas, and a boarding room-not to mention an executive style general aviation area. It had a beautiful backdrop and the people there are very friendly. It’s definitely on my list to fly to later, either on my own or with EKU.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

