Excited to move to the Piper Seneca

Picture of a Piper Seneca III (from GlobalAir.com, not EKU)

Today I had my first lessons in my transition flight lab which will move me to the Piper Seneca and get me ready for “buddy flying.” The purpose for this course is to not only get used to the new airplane (speeds, procedures, etc.), but to fly from the right seat, learn how to log hours in different roles as a crew, and fix any remaining bad habits. (to prepare for buddy flying, which is time building with a safety pilot) I received a great instructor named Andy Brooks, who I’ve met before but never got the opportunity to fly with. He is my favorite type of instructor, thorough/knowledgeable but relaxed and humorous.

We grinded through the difficult and boring things such as single-engine operations in instrument conditions, maneuvers and power settings for different phases of flight. I was impressed by the excess power the Seneca has. I would actually feel comfortable (in the right conditions) climbing on a single engine after takeoff in this airplane. I cannot wait until next week when I can jump in the real aircraft for some flights, and experience that fifteen degree nose-up climb in the flesh. Until then, I’ll continue to familiarize myself with the speeds and operations of this new airplane.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

