First Day of Seneca flying

Approach back into Richmond after the long flights.

Approach back into Richmond after the long flights.

Last week I had my first flights in the Piper Seneca III, and it was amazing. The extra power that comes from the 220 HP, turbocharged engines makes me feel like I’m in a serious airplane. I could feel the acceleration going down the runway, and the pitch angle after takeoff is almost ridiculous. I flew both in the left and the right seat for these two flights as well.

Briefing a localizer approach into Williamsburg, KY.

Briefing a localizer approach into Williamsburg, KY.

My first flight was in the left seat, and it was a cross country with approaches. It was more focused on getting used to the feel of the Seneca and it’s differences between the Seminole. I learned in this flight that trim is crucial with such a powerful airplane with touchy controls and an ease to be off airspeed. I religiously started using it after each change in pitch. Other than that, my approaches and landings were great, and I liked it a lot.

The mountainous state of West Virginia

The mountainous state of West Virginia

The second flight from the right seat was very different. I had to do instrument approaches and track navigational aids from an angle. This is difficult because you cannot tell if the needles are dead straight, or if they just appear to be from your view. I was craning my neck all during my ILS approach into KHTS, but it was not bad at all.

I had a friend sitting in the back during the two flights, so he got some good pictures of the flights. I believe I will really enjoy this airplane, and will continue to figure out it’s quirks and pros/cons. Thank you for reading, and have a great week!

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

