Flying to Springfield, IL

sunset at KSPI

sunset at KSPI

I’ve been on a handful of super neat flights in the past week or so, but the coolest one was up to Springfield. The weather was gorgeous, with the only weather threatening our trip being an AIRMET for turbulence. It was a long flight, with each leg lasting 2.5 hours on the hobb meter.

The idea of it was to complete two lessons on one Sunday.

We parked next to the jet area at a great FBO called Horizon. You can see the runway too.

We parked next to the jet area at a great FBO called Horizon. You can see the runway too.

We would fly out to Springfield at a time that would allow us to land, fill up the airplane, and watch the sun set. Then we would come back and log the night cross country time I needed for this flight lab. It worked out very well. The flight up was fairly uneventful, and the approach into the airport was very good. We got a courtesy car and went to a burger king. The view out the window was the state capitol building, and old houses lined the streets with American flags flying in the breezy 68 degree weather. We packed the airplane next to an idling jet and an orange sunset, and flew home.

Center area of KSPI

Center area of KSPI

While listening to the AWOS weather report nearing Richmond, the visibility was dropping. Each time I heard it, the visibility dropped a mile or two. Ten to twenty minutes after we got in, heavy fog absorbed the area to the point that I couldn’t see outside my dorm room window back on campus. It did not burn off until the next day at two o’clock. It was still a well-planned and fun cross country on an otherwise lazy Sunday. I love being able to be in one place far away one minute, and later be in a completely different place very far away-especially on school days. Trips like these make me grateful to be a part of such an interesting field, and makes me look forward to the future when I’ll do it nearly every week.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

