My pilgramage to Sporty’s

sporty's 2When a private pilot on the east coast is asked which airports they would like to fly to, a handful of common places usually come up. Chicago, a beach in Florida, and Sporty’s are always favorites on that list. I just so happened to fly to Sporty’s (i69) last week. It was kind of an odd experience. The airfield is much smaller than I envisioned it, and most (if not all) of the traffic are Cessna 172s. Therefore, coming into the field in a high-powered Piper Seneca on an instrument approach made things a little different.

We arrived, and cut our minimums call out way short in order to enter traffic normally. Three 172s were barreling around the pattern, and were monitoring the CTAF very well. They heard my call, and after I had let a 172 pass me to enter downwind, he told me he would do a climbing right turn to let me pass them. When I was on final, yet another 172 was taking off. I did a short field landing, pressed the brakes firmly and gladly got off the runway.

When I was taxiing, it was like trying to drive a Ford F150 on a sidewalk. I taxied it down to the FBO, and two more 172s had just landed. They let me pass as well, and I parked on the famous tarmac before the flight school. sporty's 1

The warehouse connected to the flight school

The warehouse connected to the flight school

It was a really impressive school and flight shop. Extremely friendly people worked there, and everyone was professional as well. I had a great time there, and we headed back to Richmond. It was nice to see an airport that would otherwise be small and forgotten on the map to become such a landmark and phenomenon. I cannot wait to cross more iconic airports off of my flying bucket list in the future.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

