First $100 hamburger

ramp 1

A couple of weeks ago I made an evening trip with my instructor to the scenic area of Portsmouth, Ohio (KPMH). It was an interesting trip because so many features are present in the area. I got to see the outline of the Ohio River/Kentucky border, the Appalachian mountains, the states of Ohio and West Virginia, and beautiful autumn farmland all in the same view. It was absolutely incredible.

restaurant

Sitting in restaurant at KPMH

I have now seen every corner of the state of Kentucky from the air, and can picture it in my head like one would see it from space. This is a really neat skill to have, and I can’t wait to be able to picture the United States like this.

Also, while in Portsmouth, I had my first $100 hamburger. For all the non-pilot readers out there scratching your heads, this is a common term among pilots. It’s when someone wants to fly, but doesn’t know how to justify doing it. They therefore decide to fly somewhere with a restaurant, eat there, and come back. This usually costs at least $100 in aircraft fees-thus the term $100 hamburger. Although I was flying off my syllabus time in school, I’ll still take credit for it here. The people there were very friendly and I had a great time. The flight back was a little bumpy but also routine (even though I was in the right seat). It was a great little flight and I recommend a trip there if you’re looking for a place to eat.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

