A Crazy End to the Semester

When I hear the average student around EKU’s campus complaining about problems they may be having, I cannot help but wish I had their same problems to worry about.

Us flight students have to stress out about many unique factors that many do not. I am experiencing most of these during the last few weeks in the semester. I have finally gotten scheduled for my stage check to finish the transition course I started in October. If I pass, I will be allowed into the “buddy flying” courses where I will build time in the air. However, I need to study for this test relentlessly alongside other subjects, and pray the weather holds up (it’s been rough lately in the eastern U.S.).

Also, professors in general education departments just do not understand the time crunches us aviation students have with our other schedules and relentlessly assign projects and tests until the very end. I just finished a 30 minute movie with some friends, have to additionally write a 4 page research paper on it, as well as take a semester test-all for one general education class.

While this goes on, I and several others have just received an email expressing that we need to register for flight courses before Friday if we have plans to complete it over winter break. However, I do not know if I can do this before completing the stage check I have on…you guessed it…Friday afternoon. All of this is just stressful. Sometimes I wish I were an average student just worrying about getting an A on some lousy tests, and making sure I have enough gas in the tank to drive home for the holidays. Instead I’m worrying about scheduling, driving back to fly during the break, flight tests, the weather, written exams, and registration. I do not regret it though, aviation is so fun and rewarding that I can put up with the moderate stress it involves.

Good luck to all the students out there these next few weeks, we’re almost home.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

