Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas to all of you! This time each year I become thankful for all of my friends and family, and my readers are now inseparable from that. Thank you for reading these blogs each week.

christmas-935450_960_720Now onto the aviation items. As you may or may not know, my home lies in Louisville, KY as does UPS’s world hub. This time every year UPS is pushed to capacity and is at a constant buzz throughout the city. I did not work there this year since I planned to drive back to Richmond to fly, however handfuls of my friends did (including ones from EKU). It was another insane year, and just the aircraft congestion over the sky was noticeable. I had problems falling to sleep each night as Boeing 777s, 767s and 747s loudly flew overhead, one each minute for the entire night. Working downtown yesterday I noticed the same thing about daytime, no breaks in the landing queue into SDF.

It was neat to see all the different aircraft UPS rented from other places. Instead of just seeing the common brown and white aircraft, yellows and oranges filled the sky for the past couple of weeks as well.

I can’t help think in the back of my mind that in a couple of years I will be one of the thousands of pilots forced to work on Christmas, and wonder where I will spend the holiday in the future. Oh well, time will tell eventually. Have a great Christmas!

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

