My First Flight to an “Extreme Airport”

20160130_105049

EKU Piper Seneca parked at KCRW

As any aspiring pilot has done, I have watched my fair share of TV shows showcasing extreme airports all over the world. Usually showing some type of mountainous terrain, short runway, or exotic surroundings, these airports are on the bucket list of nearly every pilot out there.

Well Saturday, I flew to one.

I had three hours to fly with Horace to an airport of our choice on our first buddy flight, and we chose the infamous Yeager Airport (KCRW). Located in Charleston, WV, this airport is one of a kind. The runway juts out from the cliff of a mountain, and the instrument approach lights extending from the runway are supported on a bridge that looks similar to the one at Hogwarts from Harry Potter. Many ramps connecting to the airport are on their own hills, and the field is home to a terminal building surrounded by airliners, an air national guard, and diverse private aircraft.

When on the ILS approach, I was focused on the instruments. When I looked up, the airport snapped out of the treeline, and after landing we were on top of a mountain. I did not take photos while flying, but I got some from the ground. I recommend searching some photos on Google, it’s a pretty cool sight. It was a great place to fly to, and I’m glad we chose it. On the way back home, the winds were insanely strong. We had a forty knot headwind, and in the Lexington area we hit some moderate turbulence that put us on the edge of our seats. We worked well as a team though, and landed our Seneca on the runway safely. This week the weather looks great, and we will try going to Evansville, IN, and Atlanta, GA. With so much occurring on the first flight, I’m interested to complete more flights in this course.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

