Flight to Evansville, IN

Last week, one of EKU’s two Piper Senecas broke down, and simultaneously Horace and I wanted to fly that Saturday. Unfortunately, Adam (my roommate) already booked the other Seneca for his own buddy flight with Jeff. This would have put us in a bit of a pickle had Greg Wilson (the new safety officer here) not changed the policy for buddy flying. Now we can utilize both the Piper Seminoles and Senecas for our trips. The Seminoles at EKU are quite a bit nicer and newer in my opinion, however there is one major drawback: they are slower.

Granted, they only cruise 5-10 knots slower than the Senecas, however they also climb much slower due to the normally aspirated piston engines. Knowing this, Horace and I selected an airport from our list that was a little bit closer, yet fun. We went to Evansville, IN (KEVV).

If you have not heard of Evansville, it is a Class C airport right on the border of northwestern KY. Airline activity goes in and out of this airport despite the relatively low population of the city. This is because the government subsidizes air routes to the city, as well as other similar cities around the U.S. The flight down was very smooth, and it was nice to fly over flat land as opposed to mountains. kevvWhen we arrived, it was fairly busy. We were number one to land in front of a jet, and two aircraft were waiting for departure at the runway-including Adam and Jeff. Turns out they decided to fly there as well, and we did not know because we had to take tests before “soloing” in the Seminole while they departed Richmond.

When we got to the FBO, the coolest thing happened. The line crew put a red carpet out for us to get off of our airplane with. It kind of caught me off guard, but it gave me a good laugh. The airport was pretty large, it reminded me of Louisville Standiford. Other than that there was not much to it. We returned to Richmond, and called it a day. I wish we would have chosen somewhere further away in hindsight, because we still had two hours left on our reservation. We made up for it on our next flight though, and next week I’ll give you the report on it!

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

