Knoxville, Tennessee

Last Wednesday I walked out of class to a windy, gusty day with only four or five hours to complete an entire flight. As I thought about where to fly, I remembered hearing in the past that Knoxville was a quick trip in a multi, and quickly decided to fly there myself.

I filed for seven thousand feet, however that was not enough to escape the rough air blowing in from the west. The entire hour trip down felt like riding a roller coaster, and I just could not enjoy the flight as much. However, the approach into Knoxville led us right over the skyline, and the winds were right over the runway so we had a relatively easy landing.20160323_142938

When we got out, the sound of jet engines were whistling in the air constantly, and a couple of them streaked down the runway. We had even passed a couple from airlines I am considering on the taxi to the FBO. TacAir was kind of nice, and we munched on free cookies while being fueled up and getting the weather for the return leg to Richmond. 20160323_142957

It was no smoother on the way back, however my stomach felt better since I was at the controls. We ended up making a Pilot Report (PIREP) about moderate turbulence over London, KY since the previous report had only been light chop. When we arrived in Richmond, I had a great approach and landing, and was glad to be on the ground. Some days I love flying, especially when the air is glassy smooth. However on days like this flight to Knoxville, I am glad when I just take short trips and get the job done. Despite passing this airport many times on trips further south, it was nice to stop in and see it from the ground as an experience.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

