Inteviewing with ExpressJet

For the past six months, I have been a part of a program called Ap3 from ExpressJet. It offers a chance for internships, building relationships with pilots in the industry, and most importantly being hired. Every year, the airline has come to the campus of Eastern Kentucky University, offering on the spot testing and interviewing in order to receive a conditional offer of employment. If the applicant passes this process, they receive an option to call the airline when reaching enough hours to do ATP training (in my case 1,000).

This year I did it.

12983982_1078244562221200_7162570461751385807_oI studied a couple weeks for the written test, and prepared for the oral interview. The test was composed of turbine, instrument, and commercial questions and most of it I already had a good understanding of. The interview was comprised of briefing an approach with a Jeppessen approach chart, HR questions, and technical aviation scenarios and questions. I did not think it was that hard, and the representatives were very nice. The night before the interview candidates and representatives  got to sit down together casually and talk/get to know each other. I learned a lot about the daily operations of ExpressJet, and where they are going in the future. Passing this process is a pretty big deal to me, and will be an extremely nice fall back if I do not decide to apply to other airlines. They treat their pilots exceptionally well, and are the largest regional airline. These factors are very tempting to me, and I may decide to fly for them in the future.

This ended an exhausting week for me, among other projects and flying. Next week will be slower and the rest will be much appreciated.

About mcjonesqwe

I'm an aviation student at Eastern Kentucky University. I love flying and learning about aviation. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky and I'm staying on campus in Richmond for school. I'm on the GlobalAir.com scholarship blog team and logging my flight training on Chasing FL180.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

